OCHS Member Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to Keep and Breed Blaptica Dubia Feeder Roaches

5 posters

Go down

How to Keep and Breed Blaptica Dubia Feeder Roaches Empty How to Keep and Breed Blaptica Dubia Feeder Roaches

Post  gatsu7 Thu Jun 23, 2011 7:50 am

Blaptica dubia roaches are, in my opinion, the best feeder insect to keep and feed to herps. They can't fly, they don't smell bad (at least not compared to crickets and mealworms), they can't survive and infest your house if they escape, they come in any size you would need for almost any herp, and they have much more nutrition per bug than crickets. Below is a tutorial on how I keep mine. I have been breeding them for a few years now, and have been pretty successful at it.

Starter Colony Size:
I recommend starting with at least 100 roaches of all sizes and genders. This will give you the best chance of creating a thriving colony that you can feed out of in a short amount of time. If you don't want to breed them yourself, I sell them in small quantities as well, so you can just feed them and get more when you need them. My prices are less than cricket prices at pet stores.

Enclosure:
I use Sterilite plastic tubs, and they have worked perfectly. Make sure to use dark ones as opposed to clear because these roaches do not like light and having a brightly lit enclosure will cause them to breed less. They will also try to escape if they are kept in a clear tub, but seem to be just fine staying put in a dark tub. Like I said before, they can't climb or fly, so it is really hard for them to escape anyway.
I customize these sterilite tubs by cutting a rectangle out of the lid and hot-glueing a piece of black mesh over the hole. This provides ventilation, but keeps the enclosure mostly dark. Below are a couple of examples.
How to Keep and Breed Blaptica Dubia Feeder Roaches HerpandInvertSetup003

Heating: